What Exactly Is Yoga

# What Exactly Is Yoga?

Yoga is an ancient form of exercise that originates in India. It is a practice that involves physical, mental, and spiritual wellbeing. The term ‘yoga’ comes from the Sanskrit root yuj, meaning ‘to yoke’ or ‘to join’. It was created to unite the body, mind and spirit.

## Physical Benefits

Yoga is known for its physical health benefits, such as:

* Increased flexibility
* Improved strength and balance
* Improved posture
* Helps reduce stress

The physical practice of yoga incorporates different poses and breathing techniques that can be adapted to all levels of ability. Practicing yoga can help improve physical health and well-being as it can help improve heart health, regulate blood pressure, strengthen bones and muscles, and reduce stress.

## Mental Benefits

The mental benefits of yoga can also be quite beneficial, including:

* Improved mental clarity
* Developing self-awareness
* Helping to reduce anxiety
* Improving focus

Yoga encourages inner connection and self-reflection, allowing us to become aware of our thoughts and feelings. This can help to reduce stress and anxiety. By connecting with our breath, yoga can also help us to be more mindful and focus on the present moment.

## Spiritual Benefits

The spiritual benefits of yoga include:

* Connecting with your true self
* Becoming more present
* Experiencing inner peace

The practice of yoga can help to deepen our connection with ourself and move us closer to our true authentic self. By uniting the body, mind and spirit, we can become more present, mindful and experience a deeper connection to ourselves and the world around us.

Why Do People Do Yoga

Yoga is a powerful practice that can help improve physical and mental wellbeing. It is a practice that can be adapted and tailored to everyone, regardless of physical ability. By integrating physical, mental and spiritual elements into your practice, yoga can help to bring balance and harmony to all aspects of life.

What are the different types of yoga?

1. Hatha Yoga – An enduring and traditional practice, Hatha yoga focuses on static poses and breath control through an abundance of rituals and postures.

2. Vinyasa Yoga – Also known as ‘Power Yoga’, this style connects asanas in a sequence through the breathing.

3. Iyengar Yoga – This type constantly focuses on precise alignment and timing of each pose, with the help of props.

4. Ashtanga Yoga – A more vigorous style of yoga, Ashtanga has set sequences of poses that get more and more challenging as the yogi progresses.

5. Bikram Yoga – Also known as ‘Hot Yoga’, this type of yoga is practiced in yogic postures and performed in a the heated room of 40°C.

6. Kundalini Yoga – Involving forceful series of poses, accompanied with powerful chanting and mantras, Kundalini is considered to be a spiritual system.

7. Sivananda Yoga – This style involves twelve basic asanas emphasizing proper breathing, relaxation, diet, and positive thoughts.

8. Restorative Yoga – Restorative yoga involves holding passive poses between three to five minutes with the help of props like belts and bolsters to support one’s body.

August Slow Flow Yoga Sequence

9. Yin Yoga – This is the slowest form of yoga. Focusing on deep, long holds, Yin yoga is a form of meditation rather than a physical exercise.

10. Jivamukti Yoga – Symbolic of “liberation while living”, Jivamukti is a challenging physical style involving asanas and meditation.

Send this to a friend